Charoset made with kosher wine, apples, pears, cinnamon, honey, pine nuts and walnuts.

A mix of chopped fruit and nuts, charoset (also spelled harosetts), can also incorporate honey and wine. The fruit can be fresh or dried (and soaked in water, wine or honey). Sometimes lemon or lime juice is added to keep the fruit from discoloring. The most common fruit is apples. Sometimes the mixture is pureed; others make it more like a finely chopped fruit salad. Other common ingredients include cinnamon, dates, figs and walnuts. Charoset are usually eaten as part of the Passover sedar.

External links

Icon-Stub This article is a stub. You can help the Judaism Wiki by expanding it. Please note, the term "stub" is not indicative of length, it simply means that there is more to be said on a topic. Even long pages can be stubs, and even short pages can be complete.